For over 25 years, the community of Lake Bluff has generously donated to The Alliance for Excellence, providing funds to support the teachers and children of the Lake Bluff public schools.

During the 2016-17 school year, the Alliance was proud to award nearly $40,000 in grants covering a wide range of academic areas (including a new kiln for the art class, new tools to help students with foreign language reading, writing, and speaking skills, special software for the new STEAM lab, Virtual Reality Goggles for the History classroom, new pianos for the music room, and a major investment into the music rooms themselves) .

We are looking forward to another successful year of fundraising during the 2017-2018 school year – there is nothing we enjoy more than awarding grants! We consider ourselves incredibly fortunate to live in a community that gives so much of their time and financial support to help make Lake Bluff schools such a great place for our kids.

Thank you for your support!

Mark Rickmeier

President, Alliance for Excellence

Alliance Board Members

Mark Rickmeier

Brian Ubell
Vice President

Tim O’Rourke

Jay Cummins

Nicole Griffith
Fundraising Chair

Todd McClamroch
Communications Chair

Jeremy Sands
Technology Chair

Katie Sekera
Marketing Chair

Kristin Mahoney

Ann Rieder

Brian Ubell

Aaron Mulford


Jennifer Scroggins
Teacher Liaison Co-Chair

Scott Mullenbach
Teacher Liaison Co-Chair

Adrienne Murrill
Events Chair

Steve Douglas
Media Chair

Katie Cheng

Paul Dueringer

Seamus Carney

John Cummins

Shana Fried

Rosalind Hodgkins

Join the Alliance Board

We ask for a three-year term, with the option to renew for up to three more years.

All members are expected to attend monthly meetings, from September-June. Generally, they run for 1-2 hours on a weeknight, coordinated with the LB school calendar.

Members are expected to either serve on a committee, chair a committee or serve on the executive board. Any committee work is expected to be kept to a minimum.

From time to time we look for members with certain skills, but most important to bring to the board is your enthusiasm.

Due to the inherent conflict of interest, any 8th grade children of board members are prohibited from consideration for the Edward S. Noyes Award, which we present at the end of every year.

If you are interested in learning more, please email Mark Rickmeier at

Contact Us

Name *
What school / class is your child in?